

# California Department of Food and Agriculture State Organic Program Instructions for Organic Registration Renewal

All registration renewals may also be completed online at <a href="https://organic.cdfa.ca.gov/">https://organic.cdfa.ca.gov/</a>

California's State Organic Program consists of two departments; the California Department of Food and Agriculture and the California Department of Public Health.

Who must register with the California Department of Food and Agriculture?

**Section 46013.1. (a) California Food and Agriculture Code** Every person engaged in this state in the production or handling of raw agricultural products sold as organic shall register with the secretary before the first sale of the product. All processors of organic agriculturally derived products that are not required to be registered as outlined in subdivision (b) (see below) shall register with the secretary. Each registrant shall annually renew the registration with the secretary unless no longer engaged in the activities requiring the registration.

**Organic Producers** - Agricultural Production is defined as the entity that engages in the business of growing or producing organic food, feed, or fiber.

**Organic Handlers** - A Handler is defined as any person or entity that packs, repacks, labels, sorts, or otherwise handles any organic product that is outside the jurisdiction of the California Department of Public Health.

**Organic Processors** - CDFA registers all dairy products and minimally processed meats sold in an unfrozen state, including cut, wrapped, and unseasoned only. Also, any processor not covered by the California Department of Public Health shall register with the California Department of Food and Agriculture.

Who must register with the California Department of Public Health?

**Section 46013.1. (b) California Food and Agriculture Code** Every person engaged in this state in the processing or handling of processed products pursuant to Section 110460 of the Health and Safety Code, and pet food pursuant to Section 18653, and cosmetics pursuant to Section 111795 of the Health and Safety Code, including processors of alcoholic beverages, shall register with the California Department of Public Health.

If you are no longer engaged in organic activities, as described above, you must send a written notification to the CDFA Organic Program to avoid further action.

#### APPLICANT'S RESPONSIBILITY

It is the applicant's responsibility to provide the most current complete information about your organic operation. It is the registrant's responsibility to ensure current and accurate information is on file with the State Organic Program at all times and CDFA is not responsible for any extra fees paid due to incorrect information provided by the applicant.

<u>Failure to complete the renewal accurately and completely may result in the renewal being returned for proper</u> completion, thus delaying the validation of your registration.

State of California Organic Program Renewal Instructions (Rev. 03/2018) Page 2 of 3

#### RENEWING CDFA ORGANIC REGISTRATION WITHOUT AMENDMENTS

- 1. Complete the required CDFA Organic Registration Renewal Forms
- 2. Determine appropriate registration fee (See Fee Chart)

**Late Fees:** Any registrant that does not pay the renewal fee within 10 days after the registration's expiration date shall pay a penalty of 10 percent of the amount due plus a 1.5 percent, per month, compounded at the end of each subsequent month on the unpaid balance.

- 3. If payment by check, make payable to CASHIER-CDFA Organic Program, 41110
- 4. Submit completed forms along with the appropriate registration fee directly to CDFA.

#### RENEWING CDFA ORGANIC REGISTRATION WITH AMENDMENTS

## What changes to my registration require an "Amendment"?

An Amendment is required when an operation has one or more of the following changes to their registration: Addition of new facilities or growing locations, change of ownership, addition of production acreage, a change/addition of operation type(s), or a change that would increase reported or estimated gross sales.

- 1. Complete the required CDFA Organic Registration Renewal Form
- 2. Complete required New/Amendment forms #1-3
- 3. Determine appropriate registration fee (See Fee Chart)

**Late Fees:** Any registrant that does not pay the renewal fee within 10 days after the registration's expiration date shall pay a penalty of 10 percent of the amount due plus a 1.5 percent, per month, compounded at the end of each subsequent month on the unpaid balance.

- 4. If payment by check, make payable to CASHIER-CDFA Organic Program, 41110
- 5. Submit completed forms along with the appropriate registration fee directly to CDFA.

#### **SUMBITTING APPLICATION AND PAYMENT**

#### Applications with payment attached:

CDFA-Organic Program PO Box 942872 Sacramento, CA 94271-2872

## Applications without payment attached:

CDFA-Organic Program 1220 N Street Sacramento, CA 95814

Upon receipt, CDFA will review the submitted registration and shall validate the registration providing it is complete and in compliance with the State law. Upon validation, CDFA will mail an official valid registration to the registrant.



## California Department of Food and Agriculture State Organic Program Organic Fee Determination & Gross Sales Fee Chart

A registration form shall be accompanied by payment of a **non-refundable** registration fee by all entities engaged in organic activities. Registration fees are based on several factors, see below for exceptions and clarification.

### Fee Chart Based on Organic Gross Sales in California

| Annual Gross Sales (California) |                        | Registration Fe | e |
|---------------------------------|------------------------|-----------------|---|
| \$                              | 0 – 4,999              | \$ 25           | 5 |
| \$                              | 5,000 – 10,000         | \$ 50           | 0 |
| \$                              | 10,001 – 50,000        | \$ 75           | 5 |
| \$                              | 50,001 – 250,000       | \$ 100          | C |
| \$                              | 250,001 – 500,000      | \$ 450          | C |
| \$                              | 500,001 - 1,000,000    | \$ 750          | C |
| \$                              | 1,000,001 - 2,500,000  | \$ 1,000        | C |
| \$                              | 2,500,001 – 5,000,001  | \$ 1,500        | C |
| \$                              | 5,000,001 – 15,000,000 | \$ 2,000        | C |
| \$                              | 15,000,001 -25,000,000 | \$ 2,500        | C |
| \$                              | 25,000,001 and above   | \$ 3,000        | О |

Any person/entity required to register with CDFA's Organic Program who has multiple operation types must calculate the renewal fee for each separate operation type and then pay the greater of the registration fee amounts. **U.S. Veterans:** If the owner of the operation is a U.S. Veteran you are exempt from paying registration fees. A copy of your DD214 is required and must be attached.

- 1. **PRODUCERS** The agricultural production renewal fee is based on gross sales of the organic product(s). Any person/entity that hires any other person/entity for custom packing or labeling shall pay a fee based on the total sales of product custom packed for them. **Special Circumstances:** Operations that produce and process only their own product shall pay fees based on the value of the raw product prior to being processed, and the value of any product sold as unprocessed (Examples: Produces olives for olive oil or grapes for wine).
- 2. **HANDLERS (DO NOT TAKE POSSESSION/OWNERSHIP)** Any person/entity that packs, repacks, labels, sorts, or otherwise handles any organic product that is outside the jurisdiction of the State Director of the California Department of Public Health and does not take title or manage the sale of the product, but provides only handling services for the organic product, shall register and pay one hundred dollars (\$100) per year.
- 3. **HANDLERS (TAKES POSSESSION/OWNERSHIP)** Any person/entity that packs, repacks, labels, sorts, or otherwise handles any organic product that is outside the jurisdiction of the State Director of the California Department of Public Health and does take title or manage the sale of the product shall register and pay a fee based on annual gross sales.
- 4. **PROCESSORS (DO NOT TAKE POSSESSION/OWNERSHIP)** Any person/entity that processes any organic product that is outside the jurisdiction of the State Director of the California Department of Public Health and does not take possession/ownership, but provides only processing services for the organic product, shall register and pay one hundred dollars (\$100) per year.
- 5. **PROCESSORS (TAKE POSSESSION/OWNERSHIP)** Any person/entity that processes any organic product that is outside the jurisdiction of the State Director of the California Department of Public Health and does take possession/ownership shall register and pay a fee based on annual gross sales.